21 Jun


Nigeria has a long history, with its root in the early civilizations of distinguished artistry and this amongst other factors have brought the country to its present status. Nigeria is a democratic country, gained independence on 1 October 1960 from the British colony. The Country had both military and civilian presidents with power handed over from the military rule to a civilian government in 1999.

There are 774 local governments, 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory. The government depends largely on revenue from oil and gas not until recent downturn in the oil sector. Changes have been made to diversify the economy (with more focus on the non-oil sector including Agriculture , Manufacturing, and revenue from remittance of taxes), drive economic growth and attract investors.